Is the Forum Search Engine Working?

Report problems, make suggestions. When posting issues please include your operating system, browser, or anything you feel may help in addressing a problem.
Post Reply
User avatar
r3feetr
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area

Is the Forum Search Engine Working?

Post by r3feetr » Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:31 am

I just entered the words north pacific coast locomotive in the Forum search box and got the following result:
ForumSearchIssue.png
ForumSearchIssue.png (10.46 KiB) Viewed 5630 times
These seem like proper search words to me. Is the search engine working?

Thanks,

John

User avatar
Andrew Brandon
Posts: 579
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Grass Valley, Ca
Contact:

Re: Is the Forum Search Engine Working?

Post by Andrew Brandon » Mon Sep 22, 2014 4:21 pm

John,

I am getting the same result when I try to do a search. This is caused by a default setting I forgot to change and will require I reindex the forum. I will take care of that later tonight and hopefully the issue will be resolved afterward.
Andrew Brandon - PacificNG Webmaster
An End To Red Domes In Our Lifetime!

User avatar
Andrew Brandon
Posts: 579
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Grass Valley, Ca
Contact:

Re: Is the Forum Search Engine Working?

Post by Andrew Brandon » Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:29 am

This is fixed.

The default search settings were marking words that showed up in 10% of posts as "common", creating the issue you ran into. The reason for this setting was to prevent bots and others from generating too many search requests so to balance this I put a mandatory 20 second delay between searches by guests. Registered users that are logged in will not have this slowdown.
Andrew Brandon - PacificNG Webmaster
An End To Red Domes In Our Lifetime!

User avatar
r3feetr
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area

Re: Is the Forum Search Engine Working?

Post by r3feetr » Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:15 pm

Thanks for fixing it. It's working fine now.

Post Reply