PacificNG Header
PacificNG Header 

Introduction / Allen Models Chloe project

Everything Live Steam Modeling

Introduction / Allen Models Chloe project

Postby Harlock » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:34 pm

Well, might as well kick start the forum. (first post!)

My name is Mike Massee and I am a professional photographer (including railroads) and print designer, among a few dozen other things.

My father and I are currently wrapping up an Allen Models Chloe, based on Ward Kimball's tiny 3ft gauge 0-4-2 engine that he retrieved from Hawaii where it was called 'Pokaa'.

The prototype is now at the Orange Empire Railroad Museum. Since Hawaii is covered on this website, I suppose it's relevant!

Here's a picture of the nearly completed engine plus the design for the fuel tender / riding car I am building for it, which will be done this month.
Attachments
10-04-26_Chloe-3327.jpg
riding-tender_page-1.jpg
riding-tender_page-2.jpg
Last edited by Harlock on Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:11 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Mike Massee
www.mikemassee.com
2 1/2" Chloe nearing completion
3/4" Scale Kozo A3 under construction
Harlock

Re: Introduction

Postby Harlock » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:40 pm

The riding tender is a MOW car, disney-fied. When I designed the caboose shell I took my favorite features from a couple of narrow gauge cabeece found online and exaggerated the roof lines a bit. I printed out full sized drawings then my father the master woodworker built it.

The Chloe is 2 1/2" scale, but it's so tiny that it's smaller than most 1 1/2" gauge engines. It's essentially a 1" scale engine with outsized features to make it a 2" scale engine. The prototype is tiny. The caboose shell is about 2" scale, which is about the right size. I designed it by sticking my thumb out to the monitor, heh.
Attachments
08-09-28_MOW_Caboose-0770.jpg
08-09-28_MOW_Caboose-0783.jpg
08-09-28_MOW_Caboose-0773.jpg
Mike Massee
www.mikemassee.com
Harlock

Postby Harlock » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:42 pm