PacificNG Header
PacificNG Header 

V&T wooden ore cars

Discussion of specific prototype locomotives and other equipment of all gauges.

V&T wooden ore cars

Postby Solomani » Fri Oct 02, 2009 5:18 pm

Hi all,

I have been researching the wooden ore cars the Virginia and Truckee had used and later narrow gauged for use on the Carson and Colorado branch at Candalaria. Not much seems to be known about them in the historical record. I have been working on collecting info for a few years and finally sat down and used the project to learn Sketchup, a "hobby CAD" program available free from Google. Attached is what I have so far. Would love to discuss these cars with anyone interested.

-John
Attachments
CC Narrow Gauge Ore Car.jpg
V&T / C&C wooden ore car
Solomani

Re: V&T wooden ore cars

Postby dsp&p_fan » Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:26 am

There's a nice engraving of this type of car in the 1879 Car Builders Dictionary on page 237. I'm under impression that they were primarily used by contractors, with the V&T/C&C being a notable exception. They are interesting cars; they seem to be unique in some of the design details.

I've wondered how the C&C cars were converted. Were new frames built, or just long axles used.

Michael
dsp&p_fan

Postby Solomani » Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:49 pm

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your reply. The Car Builders Dictionary (CBD) was a great source. I used it to base my initial sketch as it is the most clear drawing I have found to date. The tip box in the photos I have are largely the same as the CBD design at least as far as I can discern from the pictures.

I too am wondering how they were converted to narrow gauge. Sketchup has a pretty good scaling tool that you can use a known dimension and use that to get/estimate other dimensions. From doing that my best guess is that they did actually narrow the frame and used shorter axles. There are very few timbers to shorten and you likley could use the original timbers and just modify one side.