Common Carrier Railroads.
Golovin Bay Railway.
Council City to No. 15 Ophir Creek Mine, Nome Census Area. 1902 - 1906
Tanana Valley Railroad.
Started life as the Tanana Mines Railroad. Reorganized as Tanana Valley Railroad in 1907. Sold to the Alaska Engineering Commission on December 31, 1917, becoming the Chatanika Branch of the Alaska Engineering Commission Railroad. A segment of the railroad was dual gauged between Happy and Fairbanks and remains in service today as part of the Alaska Railroad. The remaining narrow gauge was scrapped in 1931.
Chena to Fairbanks and Chatanika, Fairbanks North Star Borough. 1905 - 1917
White Pass & Yukon Route.
Constructed to bring supplies to Dawson City, YT during the Klondike Gold Rush, the WP&Y operates through some of the most breathtaking scenery in North America. Completion of the Klondike Highway in 1980 and reduced mining in the area put an end to freight operations in 1982. In 1988 the line began hauling tourists as a heritage railway, carrying hundreds of thousands of visitors annually.
Skagway AK to Whitehorse YT. 1899 - Present
Alaska Pulp & Paper Co.
Tramway constructed from the factory to the wharf. The Alaska Pulp & Paper Co. was short lived, operating only 4 years. During the 1950s attempts were made to reopen the mill but never panned out.
Port Snettisham, City and Borough of Juneau. 1920 - 1924
Apollo Mining Company.
Tramway operated by the Apollo Mining Company mine on Apollo Mountain to Delarof Harbor near the town of Unga. Likely horse drawn originally, a 0-6-0T steam locomotive arrived from Baldwin in 1897. The line remained in operation until about 1917.
Unga Island, Aleutians East Borough. Before 1897 - 1917